We Owe Her Punches

062609

062609

It was a very busy day.  After I attended a few workshops, I went to my competition area to take the test.   More than half of the questions were about networking, instead of “computer applications,” which involve Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and Access. The following roughly summarizes the conversations I had with myself for the subsequent hours and days:

“Ah, do I have a chance?”

“Yea, you have to!  You got first place in regionals and second place in states!”

“But that was local.  This is Nationals!”

“The topics covered were pretty similar.  You definitely have a chance!”

“I don’t know… I guessed on most of them.”

“I’m sure you made smart guesses.”

“True.”

“Well, there you go.”

“Still, I’m going against kids who might have excelled in their states.”

“And, so did you.”

“Did I?”

“Dude, you did!”

“Ah, fine.  I need to stop worrying.  What happens happens.”

Well, like I said.  Roughly.

Afterwards, I rushed to a restaurant a few blocks away from the hotel to celebrate my sister Jamie’s birthday.  It was her 16th birthday, and we couldn’t have a party because I had to go to Anaheim.  I don’t know about her, but that’s a pretty nice “gift.”  She looked pretty content, in my opinion.

2 Responses to “We Owe Her Punches”

  1. Jamie<3 She's 16 already?

  2. mrvangeldren Says:

    Extra Asian Jamie!

Leave a Reply

