We Grow a Little Bit Older

071309

071309

Probably the second steepest hill in my town.  I remember either last year or two years ago when I would feel highly exhilarated whenever I rode my bike down this slope.  (Or terrified when I used my rusty scooter with a loose handle and worn out brakes.)  Now, it’s nothing special.  It just feels like I’m being carried by my bike, going really fast.  It’s going, but I’m not pedaling.

These days, I ride down the hill to get somewhere.  Before, I used to go down for the ride.

In other news, my mom did bring back the USB drive, and I found the pictures!  I was really glad, but I got really nervous, too.  For some reason, I was expecting some terrible thing to happen to them as I uploaded them from the USB drive, such as suddenly disappearing or being lost due to a massive blackout.  I didn’t rejoice until I was able to post the pictures in their corresponding days.  Now, those posts are updated with the pictures and some more words.

2 Responses to “We Grow a Little Bit Older”

  1. I use to have a hill that was very steep and at the bottom was a speed bump and the road went down and to the right and again down another hill. My brothers and I wold race down the hill on our bikes racing and somehow one of us would always crash. This never detoured us from doing it again and again. 30 years later that hill is still there, but now we no longer have the tenacity to make the ride, so every now and again we walk up it and back down rehashing the memories of summer past, broken legs. It always seem to bring a smile to my face.

  2. Yea, my friends and I used to go biking around a lot. As soon as spring came, we’d all expect someone to invite us to bike. Now that everyone’s starting to drive, many of them don’t see the point of biking anymore.

Leave a Reply

