Welcome to Summer

081609

081609

I was invited to go play baseball today, but, knowing that the weather was in the 90’s, I was really reluctant to play.  Bryan, who was the one who invited me, then told me that he wanted to chill.  After having a terrible time at the mall earlier today, I agreed, just to get out of the house.  I was literally tricked into thinking that we were going to hang out, when in fact we were going to play baseball.

We arrived at the park with me groaning inside and outside.  First of all, I was dressed in “chilling attire.”  Second, it was still hot, but I couldn’t run away.  We were already there, so what the heck?  Might as well go with it.

After a few minutes, I just let go of all my reluctance to play.  I really enjoyed it, and I think the only thing that was holding me back from going all out was my attire.  I didn’t want to dive into the dirt with a pair of shorts that I liked.

At one point, as I played in the outfield, I looked up at the sky and thought, “This is summer.”  I felt like a kid from decades ago, who would be itching to play baseball with his friends, with a beat-up mitt, a chipped bat, and a shirt smeared with dirt.  The great American pastime.  I don’t consider myself American, since I was pretty much born and raised in the Philippines, but I felt it.  I can’t truly describe it, but I felt a certain joy as I wiped the sweat off my forehead.  I only wish that I could’ve experienced this when I was younger.

And the picture above is the beautiful bathroom in which I changed after we had a half-spontaneous, half-planned pool party at Marison’s house.  She was with us, along with Michael, when we played baseball.

Leave a Reply

