“It’s for a Project!”

081909

081909

I went to the library again this morning.  My volunteering schedule has always been Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, and every Tuesday and Wednesday, I had to attend a program called “Reading Buddies,” during which I had to help an elementary school child read.  Today, I was assigned a Colombian kid who immigrated to the U.S. last year.  He had a really cool strong accent that heavily affected his reading.  Nevertheless, he was able to read the words quite smoothly, even though his pronunciation wasn’t exactly on point.

Afterwards, I was sent to the children’s room, where there was a huge ruckus.  Apparently, there were activities being held for small children.   Some were listening to a reader, while others were running around.  Others were actually reading.  It was a nice noisy atmosphere, although not exactly what you think of a library.  I thought it would have made a nice photo for today, since I had to work around the energetic children while putting the books away.  However, I had a feeling that as soon as I posted that picture here, I would be branded as a creepster, not to mention what the adults present there would think while I snapped some pictures.  Of course, I could’ve asked, but Mr. Shy Bones here didn’t want to.

So, now you are presented with quite a boring shot of my task after I left the children’s room.  Taking the returned books back to the second floor to be put into the shelves.

Leave a Reply

