Blame It on the Banana

082009

082009

Time for an anecdote!

For my entire junior year, my mom or dad almost always packed a banana as part of my lunch.  They were delicious, so I liked to eat them.  Occasionally, I would share them with my friends, but in the end, I always got a part of it.

Right after lunch, I had physics class, where at least five kids must have been sleeping at one point during the period every day.  I was one of them.  No matter how interesting the lesson was (to me at least), I would find myself feeling drowsy, until I succumbed to the creeping lethargy and laid my head on my arms.  I felt bad, since I was sitting on the first row, and I thought it was pretty rude to the teacher, but I couldn’t help it.  I really couldn’t.  Sleep always got the best of me, and the sight of me sleeping at one point during the class became regular.

In the second half of the year, I tried to prevent myself from sleeping.  In the beginning of the period, I would tell myself, “You’re not going to fall asleep. You just have to keep your eyes open and be attentive.  Do not, I repeat, do not put your head down.”  Twenty minutes later, I was knocked out.  I would wake up about twenty minutes later, after missing half a lesson.  One time, I had to be waken up by a friend after the bell rang.  Talk about a bad student.

Then, today I was using StumbleUpon when I found an article on the Internet that just made my day.  Entitled “10 Sleep-Foods Who Tell You ‘Good Night,’” it listed 10 foods that make you feel sleepy.  The first one listed was:

1 -Bananas. They’re practically a sleeping pill in a peel. In addition to a bit of soothing melatonin and serotonin, bananas contain magnesium, a muscle relaxant.

As soon as I saw that, I chuckled, maybe even laughed.  Who would’ve known?

And I did manage to get excellent grades in physics anyway.  I just had to study independently. *wink*

Leave a Reply

