Mere Misfortune or an Omen?

091109

091109

My sister and my friend got in a car accident today.

I was watching a volleyball game in our gym when I got a call from my sister Jamie.  Crying, she told me that she and my friend Kristine, the driver, got in a car accident.  They were supposed to be going to the next town to watch a volleyball game.  Surprised, all I could say was “What?”  She immediately said that neither of them was hurt.  After telling her that I’d be there soon, I bolted out of the gym into the rain, leaving a friend who went with me to the game.

After walking and running several blocks to the accident, I see a police car blocking the road where two cars were parked, neither severely damaged.  I find my sister and my friend talking to a cop in a nearby store.  Both of them looked shocked from the accident, tears still looking fresh in their eyes.  I didn’t know what to say.  They looked dazed, as I tried to ask them what happened.

To make it simple, it wasn’t Kristine’s fault.  According to them, they were about to complete a left turn when a speeding car comes from the other side of the intersection and crashes into the back of Kristine’s car, making her car turn all the way back to the road from which they were coming.  That’s insane.

Wow, I was so worried.  As we waited for the tow trucks, these horrible scenarios started to play in my head.  All these “what if’s.”  Stuff that I wish didn’t enter my head.  Stuff that I was glad did not happen.  Meanwhile, the culprit was talking to a guy through his phone, the entire time blaming it on Kristine and my sister “for suddenly coming out of nowhere,” cursing loudly as he complained about the damages to his car.

Kristine and Jamie weren’t severely hurt, although Jamie said she felt something on her hip.  She hasn’t complained afterwards, so we’ll see.

This is the third car accident my family had this week.  Last Saturday, some guy lightly crashed into the back of my dad’s car as my parents and both my sisters were entering the highway.  Thursday, a car crashed into and destroyed the sideview mirror.  And now this.  The thing was, I was planning on asking Kristine to pick me up and bring me to their game, but I changed my mind.  Now, my dad is telling us to avoid riding with other people for a while.

2 Responses to “Mere Misfortune or an Omen?”

  1. Kelly Denise Says:

    Oh Jesus, that’s terrible.
    I’ve never been in a car accident, but I’ve had some miss hits. Terrible feeling.

Leave a Reply

