The Spirit Sets Us Free

092009

092009

Confraternity of Christian Doctrine, otherwise known as CCD or Sunday school.  I’m a senior in high school, and I started attending CCD today.  In my church, it usually ends freshman year, during which students receive the Sacrament of Confirmation.  “Why so late, doofus?” you may ask.

I had the opportunity to receive it my freshman year, but I stupidly refused.  I hadn’t gone to CCD since we moved to our town about two and a half years prior to that invitation, so I wasn’t informed on the ritual.  In my head, I didn’t think it was that big of a deal.  I didn’t know that it was a sacrament and that it was pretty much on the same level as baptism.  Basically, I did not want to waste my time or effort into doing something like it.

Its importance didn’t hit me until I saw the actual ceremony a few months later.  A few of my friends were receiving the sacrament while I sat in the back, beating myself up for being such an idiot and telling myself, “I should be there right now.”

Fast forward a few years.  I found myself sitting in a room, surrounded by freshmen.  It wasn’t until this year that my parents finally enrolled me in CCD so I could finally receive my Confirmation.  I was hoping that no one would ask me about my age.  Of course, someone did.  He looked petrified after finding out, as if I was going to rape him.  I explained to him the situation, and everything was fine again.

This views Confirmation from the “It’s required” stance.  Of course, as a sacrament, it should be viewed from the spiritual perspective, meaning that a person should receive it when he or she’s ready, not because it’s time.   Then again, I guess that’s what CCD is for—to prepare you for that.

Fate really hates me.  This extra work would’ve been fine to a freshman, but to a senior like me, this might be the difference between waking up early Monday morning…and not waking up early.  Go figure.

By the way, Bonus Pictures page has been updated.

Leave a Reply

