More Halloween Preparations

Oct 29

102909

This year, Halloween is a bit early in my school (and maybe other schools too).  With Halloween on a Saturday, students don’t get a chance to showcase their costumes in school, so, despite initial disapproval due to our uniforms, the Board of Education finally decided to allow us to wear costumes on Friday, October 30.

That’s tomorrow, by the way.

This dress up for Halloween thing was a whole process, forcing me to face a sequence of problems.  Here’s a summary:

  • First Problem: “Should I do it?”

After comments from my friends, such as “Come on, it’s your senior year” and “Come on, it’s the only day we get a break from uniforms,” I finally decided to dress up.

  • Second Problem: “What should I be?”

A mime, suggested by Tram

  • Third Problem: “What do I need?”

A striped shirt, suspenders, black pants, white face paint, black face paint, a bowler hat, white gloves, and some shoes

  • Fourth problem: “Do I have these?”

The only ones I had were the pants and the shoes.

  • Fifth problem: “Where do I get the rest?

BIGGEST HASSLE EVER.


By being such an outgoing senior this year, I’ve been spending so much money with things that I probably don’t need to have or do.  Therefore, I had limited money when it came to costumes. Not to mention how it’s not easy to find parts of a costume when you don’t want to buy an entire set in some specialty store.

In the end, I didn’t get white gloves or a bowler hat.  I just didn’t have enough time or money.  It really wasn’t until recently that I thought about dressing up.

Oh, and there actually is one more thing that I forgot to get.  And that’s miming ability.

(pictured above) Painting a long cigarette that was used by Audrey Hepburn, Tram’s character for Halloween.

Leave a Reply

