Some Good Make-up

Oct 25

102509

This is the first time I’ve really gotten into the Halloween spirit.  Horror movies have been more frequent in my life this October (two is unusual!), and, in general, my mind has really been focused on most things horror. (Except the Ouija board, but…that’s another story.)

Today, some of my friends decided to go to “State Scare Factory: Haunted Atraction,” a frightening attraction that decided to visit my town this year.  We’ve been thinking about going since last week, and it finally happened tonight.

There were eight of us in total, six guys and two girls.  The girls were so terrified.  One of them went as far as having a fit.  One of the employees (pictured) decided to scare her, causing her to run out of the line and almost burst into tears.  It took a short while for me to finally calm her down.  I felt a mixed feeling of sympathy and exasperation.  And amusement.

She was so close to backing out of the plan, despite already paying $15 for it, but she finally gave in to our pleas after making me promise to never let go of her during the entire excursion.

Naturally, the entire factory was dark, with tall wooden walls that created the path for us to follow.  For the most part, the “terror” that the attraction produced was due to the characters that popped out of nowhere.  They were all meant to be hostile, although it was promised that none of them would touch us.  They would just get really, really close.

Being in the back of the group, with one of the girls tugging on my long-sleeved sweater, I thing I had the right to be horrified and panicky.  Though all we saw were silhouettes, it was scary because, like I said, they were coming out of nowhere.  It’s a typical way to give people a shock, but it was enough to make the girls scream.

I must sound as if I was fearless, but I wasn’t.  I had to push a few times (maybe more) because at a couple of times, I was literally cornered, with three or four bodies pressed against me, with the dark face of one of the characters hovering above me.

Anyway, it would have been a very different experience if the girls weren’t there.  It was fun, but we rushed through it.

At some point in the beginning, I thought, “What would I do if this were real?” trying to see whether my thoughts and actions during the experience would be a good reflection of how I would really think and act if I were trapped in some haunted factory.  Truthfully, I wasn’t terrified.  (But, I wouldn’t have braved through that entire thing by myself)  I saw it more as an adrenaline rush.  All we had to do was escape from the factory, in which there was only one path, and run away from all the people.   I’m sure there’s more to surviving a truly haunted place than just running away, meaning you’re probably going to have to use your head in order to find the best way out.

That did not make sense.  Ah, whatever.

Leave a Reply

