“Looks Like Morning in Your Eyes”

111709

Sunrise, sunrise

Looks like morning in your eyes

But the clocks held 9:15 for hours

– Norah Jones, Feels Like Home, “Sunrise,” 2004

I’m not really sure of the significance of these lyrics.  All I know is that I listened to it yesterday, and I fell in love with Norah Jones again.  Although I appreciate the jazz style of her music, it is Norah Jones’ voice itself that really gets me.  It’s peaceful yet sultry.  Very appropriate when you just want to lie down and let everything around you go as they usually do.

Then, I discovered yesterday that she was going to release a new album today.

So I drove to the nearest Target and bought it.   I haven’t listened to it very much yet, but I’m generally satisfied.  It takes a while for me to appreciate most songs.

Leave a Reply

