What Does That Make Me?

112009

A calm and innocent day at Tram’s house.  A nice day, spent inside the safe confines of her house.

Surfed the net using the laptop in Tram’s room.  Rummaged through her fridge to find some homemade food.  Planned to watch a bad movie.  Played video games instead.  Tried to solve some clever riddles.  Played Scattergories and Pictionary.  Ate some more.  Watched some TV.

Meanwhile, a group of friends out there are driving around in a car.  They’re probably feeling a little crazy with it being Friday night and all.  Freedom from school, you know.  Blasting the music and dancing in the back of the car.  Even the driver’s a little pumped up.  They might not have a destination, but they’re driving.  Alcohol is optional, but it’s not definitely not banned.  They know they can take care of themselves and are almost sure that it’s all in good fun.

Both groups think that they’re doing something fun.  They can feel it.  They’re doing something different, but they have the same feeling, that same feeling of amusement.

We all derive fun from activities that our own personalities and interests determine.  We wouldn’t do something that we’re not interested in.  When we find whatever these activities are, shouldn’t we all feel that same rush?

But I feel like there’s something that I’m missing.  I’d been used to enjoying those simple things my friends and I have done for the past few years—just hanging out inside someone’s house.  But I now find myself yearning for something different.

I’ve been thinking about it, and I think I should start being more out there.  I feel like all the fun I used to have inside the house has been losing its appeal.  For some reason, I want to be in someone’s car, driving around and going crazy, even though right now, I’m thinking to myself whether I would even enjoy that.  I’m almost certain that there’s going to be that voice inside my head that will be way too conscious of the happy-go-lucky attitude that I often associate with that second group.  But there’s still that unexplainable desire.  I can’t deny it.  It’s there.

Because let’s face it, do we really want to be the kind of adults whose idea of fun is staying inside all night playing some childish games?

But, my friends, please don’t take this as my declaration of my waning interest in hanging out with you.  Because you know that I know that you guys are amazing.  Besides, I’m pretty sure most of you guys feel the same way already.

P.S. Sarah gave me a lollipop today.  ‘Twas a delicious green apple flavor.

One Response to “What Does That Make Me?”

  1. nothing creepy about that picture…

    COME WITH ME AND BRYAN AND KELLY IF YOU WANT SOMETHING DIFFERENT!

Leave a Reply

