It’s Been a While

121209

(My birthday’s on the 22nd, but for some reason, I’ve written on some forms that my birthday is the 12th.  Go figure.  Anyway.)

Cue in mediocre rendition of the chorus of “Empire State of Mind”:

“New York!  *mumble mumble*  The lights will inspire you!”

Aissa, a friend who’s always busy, told us a couple of weeks ago that she would be free today to do whatever.  Of course, for the one time we hang out with someone we don’t normally see, we would have to do something pretty significant to make it worthwhile.  So Aissa took the reins and planned a trip to New York with some friends.

So six of us went today.  Chinatown was one of the stops, as usual.  My friends are more knowledgeable about the place than I am, so we were going from store to store browsing and eating.  I got my haircut too.

Then, we went uptown to Times Square.  (By subway then by foot)  There were like hundreds of people dressed up as Santa Clauses, walking around and spreading some holiday cheer.  It was pretty strange, but in the end, we just went along with it.

Afterwards, we walked to Rockefeller Center for the tree.  As expected, it was crowded, but the tree was nice.  Honestly, though, it was kind of underwhelming.  I guess I pictured a skyscraper-sized Christmas tree in my head, but that’s impossible, of course.  At least, now I can say that I’ve seen the tree.  (Yes, it was my first time.)

Then, home to Jersey, where we hung out at Newport for a short while.

Now about the picture.  These two girls were funny.  They don’t really see each other in school often.  Not much contact between them because they don’t really have any classes in common.  Then, all of a sudden, they were best friends during the trip.  They were walking together, buying stuff together, and eating together.  I don’t know.  I just found it hilarious.

Leave a Reply

