Screw Engineering! Pursue Art!

121809

OK! Funny story.  Almost tragic though.

So, last night, I slept really late because I had to finish some English homework while being distracted by a friend online.  I only got about two hours of sleep, so when I got home today, I was pretty tired.   I proceeded to flop onto the bed and take a nap at around 6:30 pm.  I woke up twenty minutes later because of some prickly feeling on my arm.  Still tired, I took my shoes off, turned the lights off, and went under the covers to actually sleep.

I woke up again.  It’s really dark, and I think, “Whoa!  It’s morning already?”  (Go figure.)  I got up, still in my school uniform.  Suddenly, I started freaking out.  I grabbed my bookbag, pulled out a camera from one of the pockets, and checked the last picture I took.  It was from December 17.

“Oh snap!  I forgot to take a picture for the day!  Oh god.  No way!  No freaking way!  I can’t believe this is happening.  After more than six months, this happens?  No way.  You’re so dumb, Jeremy.   You should’ve taken a picture before you took a nap.”

I then rushed to the computer and checked the time.  At this point, I was still panicking, my hands shaking and clutching the camera.  11:28 pm.  It took a few seconds for it to register in my head.  I then check the date.  Friday, December 18, 2009.  Instantly, I smiled.  “Yes!  I’m so lucky!  I can’t believe this!  I still have half an hour left of the day!”

You would think that I took a picture right there and then, but no.  I waited a while before I took one.

But wow, you should’ve seen me panicking in my room.

Anyway.

I often joke around with myself about the topic of what field I should pursue in college.  I want to major in chemical engineering, but I often find myself more interested in art.  In fact, I enjoyed drawing the labels on these folders much more than organizing the information that I need for each college. (Well, that’s probably understandable and expected.)

Anyway, I finally gave my counselor the requirements that need to be mailed to each college that I want to apply to.  It feels like a big load has been taken off my shoulders, but I still have the actual applications to complete.  Essays and such.

Leave a Reply

