Wish Me Luck

123109

My hand is disgusting.

According to “Azumanga Daioh,” a Japanese animé, chopsticks are a great way to find out whether things will turn out well.  In one episode, they all had to take these very important exams, and what they did was they split a pair of chopsticks in half.  If the two split perfectly, then luck was on their side.

So, when we were about to eat some Japanese food at Mitsuwa, an Asian grocery store in Edgewater,  I took the time to pull apart the chopsticks, which is actually necessary if I want to eat, so it’s not like there was any extra effort involved.

Anyway, with that in mind, I held the chopsticks with both of my hands.  (Not pictured, obviously) “Let’s see how this year will turn out,” I said out loud.  Taking a deep breath, I pulled them apart and found myself with a pair of imperfect chopsticks.

“Oh, all right then.  That’s promising.”  I didn’t really think much of it, so I just proceeded to eat.

So, New Year’s Eve, huh?  It snowed in the morning, and the plans that I had with some friends from yesterday sort of vanished.  I figured I would just stay home and do some homework.

Then, after talking to Joe, I realized how ridiculous my plan was, only because it was New Year’s Eve. “Screw homework!”  With that, plans just began to form.  Edgewater, Hoboken, my house until a little after midnight, Greg’s house for a bit.

So, it’s the end of the year, huh?  Honestly, I didn’t think much of it.  I’m still here hoping that 2010 would be better, but I haven’t found the opportunity to reflect on 2009.  Probably because the last chapter of 2009 isn’t actually over yet.  Whatever’s been going on for the past few weeks still hasn’t found its conclusion, so I’ve been more focused on that specific event than the entire year.

But the end of a year isn’t really the only time to end anything.  Isn’t it just a human concept?  The feeling that the end of the year can mark the end of the unfavorable things that happened and the unpleasant feelings we felt during the year.  Don’t we have the ability to change our lives any time?  We shouldn’t have to wait for a new year to start anew.

But to keep with traditions, let’s try to reflect on 2009 and see what we can do for 2010.

Yea, I really got nothing.  I’m still a big mass of confusion.  Happier but confused.

Here’s for an even happier year with less confusion!

2 Responses to “Wish Me Luck”

  1. mrvangeldren Says:

    -___-….

Leave a Reply

