Less Than Amateur

010510

After several years of neglecting the guitar that my dad excitedly bought for the family, I decided to start learning it after my friend Lawrence made me realize how simple it is.  A simple concept, but challenging execution.

Before the guitar, the only musical instrument around which my life revolved was the piano.  (My voice too, but that one kinda fails once in a while.)  I was inspired by my friend Michi in seventh grade when she played piano in my Electronic Music class, and I was really impressed.  Afterwards, my parents randomly brought home a keyboard from a garage sale, and I took the time to learn it by myself.

Probably taking note of this, my dad bought a guitar and probably hoped that I would learn it as well.  Unfortunately, that did not happen.  I tried, and I tried several times, but I always got discouraged.  I’m not exactly sure why, but I was definitely discouraged.  Oh wait, it was probably because of my short and quite stubby fingers.

Anyway, now I’m trying to master “You Belong With Me” by Taylor Swift.  I told Michael that I really enjoy playing and singing that song, so it’s my comfort zone.  I’m not sure if I’ll be willing to tackle another song yet.

Leave a Reply

