It’s Not a Chore When You’re Having Fun

011610

Tram has been bringing up volunteering at this soup kitchen/food pantry for a while now, and I decided to give it a try today.  I thought it was going to be tedious, but I ended up really enjoying it.

Tasks:

  • placing the tablecloths on the tables
  • placing the napkins and the utensils next to every seat
  • placing the salt, pepper, and additional napkins
  • asking the visitors to sign in
  • giving each table some cheese, butter, and bread
  • serving each person a plate of salad
  • serving each person a plate of spaghetti and meatballs
  • serving second plates of spaghetti and meatballs
  • serving ice cream
  • cleaning the tables
  • wiping the tables

I realized I probably wouldn’t do this at home (bad son!), but something about working in that environment was just exciting.  It got a little hectic while trying to serve everyone at the same time, but I think that’s what really made it fun.

The people we served were such characters too!  One old woman, who used to be a hairdresser, was talking about putting gel in my hair, and one war veteran was talking about how he prefers muffins over ice cream and how he detests water.  Interacting with them definitely put a smile on my face, although some did get a little demanding with the food at times (can’t blame them, I guess).  To be honest, though, Tram and I didn’t really interact with them that much, but I think next time, we’re going to try and be more congenial.

And I can’t forget about the people we worked with.  They were all really nice, too.  Nice crowd.  Nice crowd.

Really looking forward to the next time we’re there.

Leave a Reply

