Sell Yourself

020610

The sky threatened some heavy snow, and the dismal atmosphere was not the perfect backdrop for an interview.  Nevertheless, I scurried out of my room with a bunch of folders, arguing with my parents about what it meant to wear “casual business attire.”

The interview with Stevens, which was less scrutinizing than the interview with Princeton, went very well.  I never actually described the Princeton interview due to some unfortunate events that happened that day that rendered my mind virtually nonfunctional.   I couldn’t muster the desire to talk about it.  But, in short, although the interview was not required, I felt that I couldn’t answer some of the crucial questions with suitable answers, and I regretted not preparing very well.  I just told myself, “It’s all right.  That was trial run.  Now you have to kick some butt on your next interview.”

And that, I believe I did.  Not that what I believe matters.  It’s what the interviewer thought that matters. Anyway, I just thought that I answered all the questions with enough confidence.  The questions focused more or less on my involvement in school.

Afterwards, my parents and I exited the building with a junior who attends the college who gave us a tour of the place.  The weather was getting worse, making the acclaimed view of New York City invisible.  It was pretty disappointing, but the worst part was that the wind was beginning to blow so hard that it was becoming painful, especially for my naked hands.

In the end, I decided that Stevens would be a really nice safe school.

Leave a Reply

