Mother Earth Speaks

051610

For the last two years, I participated in the AIDS Walk at Central Park, but this year, my friend Stefany, a vegan who came with me last year, said that she was going to the Veggie Pride Parade in NYC today instead.   So I figured, I might as well try this one this year.

I drove Tram, Michael, and myself to the parade and had some trouble with parking.  We were late, so we missed the actual parade, and we just met up with Stefany, her sister Cindy, and Andre in Union Square where the parade ended.  Practically everyone was advocating for animal rights and stuff.  I couldn’t really relate, since I do eat meat, but it was interesting to hear and see this gathering.

Then, later on, Stefany participated in this costume contest, where all competitors supposedly won something.  The emcee announced the names of the winners who received some great prizes.  Each one was dressed as a fruit or vegetable or something “homemade,” since those were what the emcee apparently appreciated the most.  So, as we saw two asparagus, a bunch of berries, and a girl in a bikini made of lettuce take the stage, get recognized, and receive wonderful gift certificates to delicious-sounding restaurants, Andre and I were wondering if Stefany was going to “win.”  When she was later called, we saw the emcee hand her a book.  She wasn’t even featured.  Stefany later told us that the winners were all friends with the emcee.  Stupid.  I thought Stefany had such a well-thought out costume.

Favoritism.

Leave a Reply

